Loading...
 
Features / Usability

Features / Usability


[solved] Auto Assigning Users to A Group

posts: 27 United States

Hi All!

Is it possible to automatically assign users to a group (other than registered) when they finish registering for an account? Additionally, can I create buttons that will add users to a group? Ideally I would like to do this in the background since the MemberPayment module isn't working properly for me, but I might be able to make a button such as "Confirm Membership" that will assign them to their group.

Thanks,
Sam

posts: 27 United States

Got it! By adjusting the page to use the register module instead of a tracker plugin that required users to register, my users were being assigned to the proper group!

Sam wrote:

Hi All!

Is it possible to automatically assign users to a group (other than registered) when they finish registering for an account? Additionally, can I create buttons that will add users to a group? Ideally I would like to do this in the background since the MemberPayment module isn't working properly for me, but I might be able to make a button such as "Confirm Membership" that will assign them to their group.

Thanks,
Sam


posts: 27 United States
Sam wrote:

Hi All!

Is it possible to automatically assign users to a group (other than registered) when they finish registering for an account? Additionally, can I create buttons that will add users to a group? Ideally I would like to do this in the background since the MemberPayment module isn't working properly for me, but I might be able to make a button such as "Confirm Membership" that will assign them to their group.

Thanks,
Sam


posts: 8516 Israel

Well done Sam !

Another option I needed to test first to confirm.

Tested with pretty tracker registration on Tiki23

In the Log In control panel /tiki-admin.php?page=login search for "Group and tracker login settings"

For "Users can select a group to join at registration" select only ONE group and unable "Users must choose a group at registration".

The group you selected will be assign to the new user registering by default.
(for pretty trackers I added {$register_groupchoice} on the page and it wasn’t displayed just assigned automatically).

It will certainly help someone one day ;-)